A Letter To My Sparkle

My firstborn. My precious sparkly girl. I want to always remember these last three months that I’ve witnessed you not only become a big sister, but wholeheartedly embrace it. It has come so naturally to you, it’s as if you were meant for this role, always.

In the months leading up to your sister’s arrival I was so nervous and anxious of how you would react and adjust. How silly of me. I should have known better. I should have trusted in your heart. You truly have the biggest heart of anyone I know. You love fully and selflessly. How would it be any different with your little sister, whom you affectionately call “little babe” or “little fella” haha.

I also want to always remember the nights we’ve shared as you’ve embraced this new tiny human in our family. You share your mommy with her and gave up your spot next to me in bed for her. You’ve done all of this without the slightest fuss.

At nights, when I need to soothe “your baby” to sleep, you get out of bed to walk and pace the halls with me to quiet her down so we don’t have to be alone. You will walk and pace for however long it takes. When you awake in the morning you joyously look over to see if “your baby” is awake yet. You snuggle in close with her and give her your hand to hold. You kiss her face and tell her you love her. When she wakes up both of your faces light up with the purest happiness I’ve ever seen.

My mama heart is so full. I’m so blessed to have you both.

My dearest firstborn, thank you for showing me what true love is all about. You’ve taught me to be patient and kind and above all else to love big like you. You are my best, like I tell you everyday. Best big sister, best firstborn, my best.

My hope for you is that you continue to sparkle and shine in all that you do and that your light will be an inspiration for your little sister and for our family. You truly are our treasured gem. ❤️

IMG_0419.JPG

IMG_0479.JPG

IMG_0443.JPG

IMG_0391.JPG

IMG_0312.JPG

IMG_0401.JPG

IMG_0347.JPG

IMG_0382.JPG

IMG_0359.JPG

IMG_0353.JPG

IMG_0243.JPG

IMG_0133.JPG

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Random thoughts, Reflections, Siblings, Sisters, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Letter To My Sparkle

  1. beingbodeker says:

    Oh, Mia! Such beautiful words for such a beautiful soul. She is absolutely a treasure! I can see so very clearly in your photographs how much she absolutely adores her little babe. So clearly. The photo of them sleeping, third from the bottom, really tugged at my heartstrings. Such gifts!!! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

