The NT scan!

I am going to be very honest. I had horrible dreams last night thinking about this first trimester screening, the NT scan. This is where they measure the fluid at the back of your neck and correlate it with blood work I had done last week, in conjunction with my age and ethnicity to determine my risk for Down’s Syndrome or Trisomy 18, both genetic disorders.

I tossed and turned all night and had the worst dreams in anticipation of this appointment. I know I let my anxiety get to me, but it really had me rattled this morning.

As we walked into the clinic this morning at 8:10am daddy looked over at me and asked me if I was excited. Yes, extremely excited…but VERY nervous. I looked at him and asked him the same question…he paused…he was nervous too. Oh great! haha.

They saw us almost immediately, and little baby bean, WOW!!!! She put the transducer on my belly and there you were! You popped up on the screen! You were in the perfect spot, sound asleep and ready to be measured. It astounded me to see how much you had grown since our first ultrasound. You looked massive! And I could see all your parts!! You are a real live baby! My smile was huge and my heart was pounding. You are the most beautiful baby I’ve ever seen…just as beautiful as your big sister on the day I saw her too! My heart is so full of love and joy and excitement!

Right away the technician said, baby looks great and I can tell this is a normal NT. I am SO relieved she said that as it put me at ease for the rest of the appointment! You are FINE!! You are more than fine, you are FANTASTIC!!! I’m elated. I’m in love. I’m in happy tears over here. I was so enamored just staring at you up there on that screen. I didn’t dare look away. I kind of wish I could have stole a glance to see what your daddy looked like, but I know he was just as happy and relieved and in love. As we left the u/s room and went back to the waiting room to get the final results from the geneticist I think you could feel the love and excitement with a 10 foot pole that was emanating from your daddy and I. Your daddy quickly snapped a pic of one of the souvenir pictures they gave us and I of course followed suit and sent it to your grandparents. I’m a proud mama already! đŸ˜‰

When it was our turn to meet with the geneticist, she again (it was almost like they all knew I had been stressing) said, “Come on back Mia. I have great news for you!” PHEW!!! I’m loving that! She confirmed that you are perfect, fantastic, and healthy!

Your heart was beating at 150bpms, you measured 61.8mm or 2.43inches which puts you at 12 weeks 4 days (exactly where you should be!!!) and your NT measurement was 1.7mm. You are a rockstar! I am so proud of us baby bean! SO PROUD!! I love you so much and more than I knew was possible!! Here are the stats for your sister’s NT scan and it’s crazy that you guys are pretty much identical!!!

This was pretty much the last appointment I was waiting for before I start to tell the rest of the family and share with friends, but part of me still wants to keep this our little secret. But I guess with my expanding belly I won’t be able to keep our little secret for much longer so operation announce you to the world is up next. Woohoo!

999939_10102135944292344_692966300_n

Your right hand and fingers. You had this arm up in front of your face đŸ˜€1606997_10102135944377174_1003837697_n baby profileToday, I am the happiest mama alive. Because of you, baby. Because you exist. Because I saw you today. Because you are mine and I am yours. I am so honored to be able to be your mommy, little one. Thank you for choosing me! I love you more than I’ll probably ever be able to express to you…yes already. It’s amazing. And humbling.

So, one little question…are you a girl baby or a boy baby? We find out in 4 weeks!!

Elated,

Mommy Em.

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Baby #2, development, Neural development, Pregnancy symptoms, Ultrasound pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The NT scan!

  1. KC says:

    Yay!! Of course our baby is perfect! Glad you feel better though too!

  2. beingbodeker says:

    So happy for you & G & G!!! Wonderful news! Baby is adorable already!

Leave a Reply

