Doppler Heartbeat 9 weeks 4 days!

Baby!!!!!!!!!!!! I heard you last night!!!! Let me say that again…I HEARD YOU!

Using the doppler to find you in my belly can be both a source of joy and a source of frustration and panic. You are still so tiny right now that it’s a lot like trying to search for a needle in a haystack…a beating heart in a haystack haha. I will confess, that I had tried to find you at 8 weeks 5 days and drove myself batty when I couldn’t. I knew you were tiny and that it would likely be out of pure luck if I found you, but it still didn’t make me any less disappointed when I couldn’t hear you. 😦 So, this is where your amazing daddy comes in. He’s awesome. You’re really going to love him a lot. Your big sister and I think he’s pretty great. Your daddy has a lot more patience than me and also is a tad more logical and less emotional right now heehee.

Right before bed, we laid down (the whole family!!) and started to look for “the baby” and it’s a good thing it was your daddy doing the searching because it took about 20 minutes. After the initial 5 minutes elapsed I was freaking out inside and trying to distract myself and also reassure myself that all was okay.

Then, there you were. That magical thump thump thump that is so fast and is very unmistakable. Confirmation. You are there. There is a tiny human growing inside me! Ahhhh! I love you so much!! It did wonders for my confidence and struck away those fears I’m working so hard to get rid of.

Lastly, I know this is kind of crazy, but as your daddy was diligently searching around for you…I felt you. I felt you a lot. You kept squirming and swimming away wherever he would poke. It was this tiny flutter that was a little weird and uncomfortable, but it was definitely you. I cannot tell you how happy it made me to hear AND feel you so early!

Here is one of the videos we captured from last night! And please excuse your sister. She was a bit tired and really wanted to go to bed 😉 Your heartbeat is kind of soft so listen carefully!

https://vimeo.com/83693786

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Baby #2, development, Pregnancy, Random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doppler Heartbeat 9 weeks 4 days!

  1. beingbodeker says:

    That is so wonderful!!! That sound sure sends me back to that magical time! I was just like you with June–I had to hear her constantly to calm my fears. June loved listening to Big Sister on the video, too! So glad you can feel baby already! xoxo

  2. KC says:

    Hooray! We love baby Lish already too!!

Leave a Reply

