Vacations are special ♥

In so many ways, right? I feel like that is such a generic statement to make. Of course vacations are special! But maybe I should back-up a bit and give this a little context for you… 🙂

We are a simple family. Really. We live a relatively simple life. We’ve never really felt the need for extravagance, especially after the little monkey was born. She was all the sparkle we needed in our lives. Simple for us is really great. That also means we don’t jet off to fancy places very often, but when we do take a few days to relax and enjoy our family, it’s special. Very special. I really don’t think there is anything quite like being able to get away from your reality for a few days and just relax and really enjoy the people you love the most. It always recharges my soul and pushes me forward in life. I love vacation!

Back in early November we took a little mini vacation to the Lake Tahoe area. It was just me, the hubby, the sparkle and one of our furry babies, Nelli.

E-IMG_3679b

It was just what the doctor ordered! Lake Tahoe might just be one of the most gorgeous places on earth and only a short drive from our home, score! We had a fabulous room right on the lake, did about a mile hike down into Emerald Bay and had delicious food on the pier topped off with yummy cocktails at sunset. It was really a magical and perfect weekend. The little monkey loved our hike and feeding the ducks and playing in the sand. It’s such a joy to experience the world through a child’s eyes. It’s like a brand new fresh perspective on life. So rewarding!!

E-IMG_3567 E-IMG_3573 E-IMG_3574 E-IMG_3579 E-IMG_3588 E-IMG_3592 E-IMG_3598 E-IMG_3605 E-IMG_3608 E-IMG_3623 E-IMG_3627 E-IMG_3631 E-IMG_3639 E-IMG_3648 E-IMG_3655 E-IMG_3669b E-IMG_3697 E-IMG_3701 E-IMG_3704

 

 

 

But I guess this is the part where I really explain what I mean when I say “vacations are special” to us. It’s probably because this tends to happen on vacation:

 

 

IMG_0585 IMG_0597Also, I’m neurotic and like to take a lot of pregnancy tests haha! 😉

So, there you have it. Vacations are VERY special to us and we have an excellent track record of bringing back the sweetest souvenirs to remind us of what a magical time we had!

And, thus, our journey through this crazy thing called pregnancy begins again!! Hang on everyone, it’s about to get all sorts of crazy up in here…And I cannot wait! 😀

Please keep your fingers and toes crossed for us as it is still very early and, as I’ve come to realize, my anxieties left from our sweet first angel baby still haunt me, daily.

Next post will be an update about where I am in the pregnancy and about how I told the daddy and the grandparents…of course I wanted to do something a little special ♥

And to my dear, sweet baby growing inside; I already love you so much and didn’t realize there was any space left in my heart to love this fiercely again. Please hang in there!! We are in this together little one. And there is an amazing daddy and a big sister waiting to meet you and love you just as much as me!

 

 

 

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Baby #2, Pregnancy, Random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vacations are special ♥

  1. beingbodeker says:

    SO HAPPY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A thousand congrats your way! The photographs in this post are exceptionally beautiful, especially the capture of you and the little Sparkle smooching on the pier with the pines dotting the hills in the background–someone is getting VERY GOOD at photography!!!!! Your family is just gorgeous and I love how simple you strive to live. Big smooch your way! xoxoxoxoxo

  2. KC says:

    YAY!!!! Can’t wait for another family member!! Rub the belly :)!

  3. Isabel Simões says:

    Congratulations! All the best! Really happy for you.

Leave a Reply

