My giant heart

They say your heart grows when you have a child and for each child you add your family. You have to fit all that love in somewhere right? I imagine some mamas’ hearts fill their entire bodies and then some haha. Today I felt the size of my heart as it swelled in my chest as I looked at a picture daddy sent me this morning. I never, NEVER knew I could love as fully and fiercely as I do when it comes to you and your daddy. Nothing in the world matters to me like the two of you. Being a mommy changes you, to the core. Where once I was selfish and self-centered, there now lies selflessness and more love than I know how to process sometimes. It leaves me feeling very vulnerable because you and your daddy are the most important people in the entire universe to me! But I guess that’s a part of loving fully.

This picture may not look like much to anyone other than me. In fact, the lighting is terrible, it’s blurry and you can’t really see any one person’s face. But, as it popped up on my phone, my heart became giant and filled with love, gratitude and humility. How am I lucky enough to call these two people my family?? What did I do so right in life to deserve you guys?!

You woke up and, according to dada, you asked where mama was. He told you I had to go to work. You processed that for a moment and then snuggled right in with dada and went right back to sleep.

You are my big girl. My sweet, loving, snugly, smart, big girl.

Today my heart is giant. ❤

20130716-075429.jpg

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in baby, Random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My giant heart

  1. KC says:

    So sweet!! It’s true, somehow our heart can manage to not explode!!

  2. beingbodeker says:

    She is so adorable! What a great father she has in G.

Leave a Reply

