The Sparkle Turns 1!

I have been doing a lot of reflecting over the last couple of days. And it blows my mind that one year ago, I was one day short of meeting you for the very first time. I remember trying to imagine what your face would look like. I couldn’t picture you, at all. Now, your face is so familiar and I can’t imagine you looking any other way! One year ago, I had no idea that this would be the last full day I carried you inside my body. That contractions would start that night and you would decide to come into the world, one week early. One year ago, I was super preoccupied with getting the house ready and wanting to make sure it was perfect for you. One year ago, I had no idea how much my life would change. One year ago, I thought I already loved you….I had no concept of how much my heart would grow and how my reason for living would totally shift. One year ago I was nervous about labor and delivery. One year ago, we were a family of two. One year ago, my life was incomplete…

Then the most amazing thing that has every happened to me…ever…happened. You were born.

As I reflect all weekend, it is with bittersweet emotion that I welcome your very first birthday. The year has flown by too quickly. You’ve grown so much from your very first day in this world. Every day that passes I love you more than the last, and I’m never sure how that is possible! You have changed me into a completely different person and I will always be eternally grateful to you for that. One day, when you’re a mommy, I think you’ll understand what I’m talking about. 🙂

But until then, I’m going to keep soaking this in. It feels very good. Tomorrow you will have spent 1 year with your daddy and me. I can say with absolute certainty; this has been THE BEST YEAR OF MY LIFE.

Happy birthday to my little sparkle, my reason for living, my pride and joy…MY DAUGHTER. I love you.

 

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in baby, Random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Sparkle Turns 1!

  1. Gemmie,
    You are perfect all around. Your eyes, your nose, your mouth, your beautiful arms and feet. I’m not sure I have an understanding of how much love your existance generates through your Mommy’s writings, and the most amazing pictures you and her create, but that’s a fact. I too, celebrate the eve of your birth. I love you little sparkle!!!!

Leave a Reply

