A weekend of firsts!

The amazing thing about human development, to me, is the speed at which it all happens! It’s so crazy. Once neuronal processes start coming online, it’s like a firestorm with one after the next…mobility, communication (verbal and non-verbal), emotions, awareness, etc. Our brains are so intricately connected that it makes sense that when one neural substrate is mature and begins to mediate behavior, that others will closely follow! This weekend was a prime example of that! Ready for it??? First spoken word and first non-verbal communication! Two HUGE developmental milestones!!! I am so so so proud of you my little love!!!

You said your first spoken word and it really isn’t surprising what it is at all…”dog” which you pronounce “doh!” Hahaha, it’s so cute!! I love hearing you say it!! Your daddy and I have been trying to get it on video but you do not perform on command haha.

And here’s a little video of you and Nelli 🙂

And of course, the second developmental milestone…..POINTING!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is my favorite trick of yours to date!!! You are so darn proud of yourself for learning how to position your fingers just right and point at things! You love to point at your nose and my nose and the “doh!” and everything! It’s truly fascinating to see you develop these skills and then put them into action!

LOVE it and LOVE you!!!!!!!!!!!!!

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in baby, Infant development. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A weekend of firsts!

  1. see says:

    Your baby girl is beautiful! I found your blog by accident and I relate so much to it. I too lost my first baby and now I am 14 weeks along. It is going well, got negative results on genetic testing (I did the new blood exam-MaterniT21) but I’m very anxious all the time. I am also a working mom to be (Professor at a major University). You are an inspiration, thank you!

    • Em says:

      Congratulations on your pregnancy!! And I’m sorry to hear about your first loss. But hang in there and try to enjoy this new life growing inside you 🙂 so glad you found the blog! I hope it’s a source of comfort to know someone else was in your shoes and made it out the other side with a happy and healthy baby! Enjoy the ride!!!

Leave a Reply

