My sweet sick souvenir

My poor little angel. You have your very first cold…I mean a real cold. Your sinuses are draining, you’re coughing, you can’t breathe, and you’re running a fever. Seeing you so uncomfortable and sick breaks my heart more than I knew it could! If I could be sick for you, I would in a heartbeat! Last night was so rough for you. You couldn’t sleep because you were so miserable and when you would finally drift off, the congestion would wake you up as you tried your hardest to breathe.

I nuzzled and snuggled you and for the first time since you were a newborn, you fell asleep on my chest. Oh sweet girl, I hope it was comforting for you. You radiated heat all night as your fever raged on, but I let it progress in the hopes that it would kill whatever nasty bug you have. This morning you woke in better spirits, but you are still uncomfortable. I want to take it away so badly. But for today we will snuggle and rest and get you better. I’m drinking in all these snuggle moments and you melt my heart as you reach out for me, knowing that a mother’s touch can do wonders. I will always be here for you, my baby girl, and I will always try to make you feel better. I hope you remember that.

I love you my little sick angel. ♥

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in baby, Random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My sweet sick souvenir

  1. Yes, I did say my baby girl. Mommy Em. Your writings remind me a young Grandma Em caring and raising her babies…
    Sweet dreams to both of you.

Leave a Reply

