Shaping up…differently

We’re talking post baby bod over here. It’s kind of funny, dropping the 28 pounds I gained and fitting back into my pre prego clothes were what I thought was going to be difficult after giving birth. Turns out, that was the easy part. What is not easy, is getting your shape back! Sure, I was back in my jeans in about 10 days and I’m officially 2 pounds from my pre prego weight, but oh my is my body shape….different! This was something I guess I didn’t really anticipate. Like, um, hello fatty roll on my back beneath my shoulder blades! Where did you come from? Hello jiggly muffin top hanging over the top of my pants! Nice to meet you. Oh and let’s not forget jiggly/saggy tum tum that was once tight and rock hard. Yeah, you I especially don’t like!  So while, yes, I’m back in my normal clothes and just about back to my weight, my body shape is quite….different 😀

And with that realization began the fight to get my body SHAPE back haha. This is proving to be much more difficult now that I have a tiny, precious, cutie, princess monkey who pretty much dictates how all my waking hours go…let’s be real, she dictates my sleeping hours too! Heehee, but I’m so okay with that. My little souvenir is worth it times a billion. So while back in the day I would just hit the gym hard for a couple of hours everyday and couple that with a lean mean healthy diet, that is just SO not feasible these days. I mean I’m lucky if I get a shower in and something to eat before 1pm. And my diet? Haha, let’s just say it consists of anything I can quickly grab and shove in my mouth before the little milk monster needs my full attention.

So here’s what I’ve been doing and it seems to be slowly but surely working:

– One 30 minute walk most days. This one is fairly easy to squeeze in since baby girl LOVES her ergo carrier. Bonus, she acts as an 11.5 pound weight and it also puts her to sleep! Yay!
image

– Quick sit ups, crunches, or anything core related if I can set her down for 5 minutes. You’d be amazed at the tummy burn you can get in 5 minutes while the little one sits in her bumbo or plays with her activity gym!

– Since I don’t often make it to the actual gym (baby girl is too young for gym daycare) and being a true child of the 80s and 90s…workout videos! Haha! If I can get the tiny babe down for a nap in her crib, I sprint to the living room and flip on a workout video! My favorites are the quikies from Denise Austin, blast away 10 and Get Fit Daily Dozen. These are specifically designed to get right to the point in 20 min or less! That’s a huge bonus for a mom whose baby sometimes takes quick cat naps!

Uh oh, someone is up from their nap! Gotta run!

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Post partum, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

