Infant Imitation!

Baby girl, because you are the daughter of a science nerd, I have been having fun watching your most early developmental milestones. One of these is infant imitation. Andrew N. Meltzoff, who is an American psychologist and expert on child development first described this phenomenon. Google him and you’ll find all sort of intriguing articles about babies imitating facial expressions and hand gestures. It’s truly amazing. When mommy was doing her grad school research, I worked a lot in this area and now I’ve gotten to try it out on you! Haha, my own little science project. Check out the pictures your daddy captured of you and I having some intense face time and you imitating mommy! I’m pretty sure you are a genius and the smartest baby that ever lived! 😀

This is you sticking out your tongue in response to me sticking out my tongue 🙂

 

And here you are making a pucker face in response to my pucker face

 I love you so much my sweet souvenir. I’m having such a blast being your mommy and it’s only been 10 days! My heart is bursting at the seems, swoon!

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in baby, Infant development. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Infant Imitation!

  1. Melissa says:

    K so I was doing this with Aubrey and my mom thought I was crazy. I swear she was following me (sorta). She didn’t do it every time but she did some! Glad to know I have verification from you 😉

  2. Ruby says:

    I love this fleeting time in a baby’s life. So much fun and so amazing. What wonderful memories you have preserved! ❤

  3. Kathy says:

    ur the best mother in the whole world….u kept everything on track…

Leave a Reply

