1 week post partum

image

image

Here’s what my tummy looks like after giving birth vaginally one week ago. I’ve been using the “Belly Bandit” and I really think it has helped shrink things down. Look how noticeable my linea negra is now lol. I wonder when that will start to fade…

In a really weird way, I really miss my baby bump. It makes me cry when I think about it, but at the same time I want my old flat stomach back too. So, I’m focussing on getting myself back to where I was…pre baby. Gosh, even that last sentence makes me tear up! I love what my body was able to do and the life it supported for 39 weeks 🙂

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Belly pics, Post partum, Pregnancy products. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 1 week post partum

  1. Melissa says:

    Mine is finally starting to fade. I didn’t realize how dark it was when I was pregnant. But it’s really obvious after birth!!

    And looking good! Do you notice your hips shrinking too?

  2. Sonam says:

    Hi Em! I had a question. Though I still have 3 more months to go to deliver…my belly is huge already. Not that I was thin before I conceived, but its enormous for someone who is jet 6 months pregnant. I would love to have a body like yours post partum, but right now to me it looks unachievable. Also, I want to ask you if you got stretch marks in your pregnancy. I already developed a few and am kind of depressed about it. Some ppl get it and some don’t. Just want to know if you got them? If yes, then how did u deal with them mentally and how you got rid of them?
    I know you have a lot on your plate to take care of, but I would love to get a reply from you. My email id is sonamvaghani@gmail.com
    I am from India and work as a freelance makeup artist.
    Thanks and Regards
    Sonam Vaghani.

    • Em says:

      Hi Sonam!
      PLEASE don’t be depressed about the stretch marks. I know that is so hard to do. But think about what your body is doing…creating a brand new life! Your body is amazing; a miracle in its own right. When I think about what our bodies, as women, are capable of doing, I am in awe. Those stretch marks are proof, evidence if you will, that you created life. That you housed life. That life found refuge inside of you. Many women would kill for that blessing. Be proud of those marks. You earned them!! They are reminder of the greatness you have given this world. It may not be easy to see the changes your body has gone through and will continue to go through, but they are truly beautiful. Sometimes, (HA!! okay, many times haha) these days when I look in the mirror and see that my stomach is not as firm as it was, my breasts do not look like they did, and my overall body shape has changed, I want to cry and I long for the days when everything was young and tight, but then my little miracle comes running into the room and I remember what it was that my body was able to do. I need to love how my body looks now! I’ve earned it!! I have a living child as proof!! Those marks will fade, but let them be a positive reminder to you of what you were able to accomplish! And besides…I want and need to set a positive example for my daughter. I never want her to see me be hard on myself. I only want her to know love for herself and her body and I need to set that example. I need to embrace who I am now and what my body has become. If I don’t love my body and all its “imperfections” how can I expect her or anyone else to? So try not to get down about it. You are a warrior and your body is your temple! Love it!!!

      • Sonam says:

        Thank you so much Em! For such a prompt and positive reply. Makes me feel so much better about the changes that my body is going through. Thanks for helping me in embracing this change, for being so compassionate and helping me and many other women who read your blogs.
        I am short of words to thank you. I cant thank you enough for all the help extended by you through your blogs.
        Stay blessed and happy.
        Love and hugs.

Leave a Reply

