Thoughts and Ramblings: Secret society

Such a crazy phenomenon. Once you are pregnant and really begin to show so that the outside world readily recognizes you’re pregnant, it’s a whole different ball game. Strangers stare at you and smile or stare and then comment. It’s like those who have been there before are recognizing what a special moment in life you are going through. And, as a society, it is revered and respected and pregnant women are put on this pedestal. People offer me their seats, let me cut in line, open doors, offer to carry my bags to my car… It’s such a wonderful feeling and I’ve been overwhelmed by people’s kindness. And to be honest, I’m a little ashamed that I’ve never (before now) taken the time to notice pregnant women and offer them help or give them a sweet smile. I guess it was something that I just couldn’t relate to…yet. 🙂

Now, it’s kind of crazy. I feel like I’ve been given an all access pass into this secret society of pregnant women, moms and dads. Just the other day we were at Costco and there was another woman walking toward me who was obviously pregnant (much more than I because her belly button was completely popped out haha) and we made eye contact, smiled and gave the old “head nod” in appreciation of each other’s condition. I have to say, it was awesome. It was like we both knew what the other was going through and acknowledged it in each other. It was such a knowing look and smile. Of course it all happened in a matter of about 5 seconds before we passed each other, but it literally warmed my heart. We were in it together for those 5 seconds. I loved it.

Moms and dads even stop to talk to me and ask me questions. I had a dad stop me in Starbucks last week and ask me how far along I was and if I was feeling you move yet and then got so excited to share that when his wife was pregnant he used to just sit and stare at her belly and watch his baby dance away in there. He was so excited for me and congratulated me and wished me all the best and told me that I was going to have the time of my life being a mommy. I wanted to hug him. A complete stranger and I was compelled to hug him!

I had no idea this little secret society existed!! And to think, all these years I’ve gone through life not noticing the women who are baking babies in their bellies, not knowing what I was missing out on. I’m so happy to now have my official membership card and I wear it proudly…lots of snug fitting clothes to show YOU off to the world, my princess! I think it will be bittersweet when you’re no longer in my tummy. I think I’ll miss those glances and smiles and conversations from strangers, but I bet there’s a whole new conversation that happens when I cart a newborn around in public. Lots of oohs and ahhs. I’m so excited.

I love you!

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Pregnancy, Random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts and Ramblings: Secret society

  1. KC says:

    I love the secret society too :)! I’m surprised if someone doesn’t talk to me every place I go when I have Luke with me. Most people love his sounds and smiles. I’m sure it will be the same for you once beautiful baby girl gets here!

  2. annika says:

    We love having you and tiny one in the club 🙂 So glad you decided to join.

Leave a Reply

