Cloth Diapering and no I’m not a hippie mama

Look what we got in the mail two nights ago…eeeeeeeeeep! Aren’t they cute??

DISCLAIMER: I am in no way a hippie mama who’s all about organics and composting and hugging trees!

Phew, I had to get that out of the way first. I’m just an ordinary working woman (mommy-to-be!), who does what I can to recycle, buy wholesome foods (organics if they’re in my budget but I don’t go overboard), conserve energy (turn off the lights if you’re not in that room!) and lead an otherwise environmentally responsible life (don’t litter kids!). And yes, I do them because I do care about our planet, I want my kids and their kids to be able to enjoy this earth too, but in all honesty……………………..I do them because I’m frugal haha. I’m all about being economically conservative, especially in an economy such as today. In our house, we do what we can to save a buck or two. That means using a coupon when we go out to dinner if we have one, buying clothes only when they’re on sale (I myself am a TJ Maxx kind of girl), checking out Craigslist for good deals, etc. This allows us to own a beautiful home and newer SUV, own 3 dogs and spoil them rotten, go on mini vacations to Los Angeles, San Diego, Vegas (or big vacations like Costa Rica, woo woo!) and indulge in our hobbies. So basically we save money where we can to keep our lifestyle where we like it. 😀

So, in thinking about all the options that are available to moms when it comes to feeding and diapering your baby, well it really was a no brainer for us. We crunched the numbers and did the math. I’ll save you from the math! But for us, we’ve decided to breastfeed Baby Em (uh, hello…free food for baby? Yes please. And it’s nutritionally superior to formula?? Hell yes, please.) Not only will we be providing the best nutrition for baby monkey, we won’t be spending tons of money on formula! ::knocking on wood:: I should also disclose at this point that we are going to TRY to breastfeed. If it doesn’t work out for us, it won’t be the end of the world. We’re going to give it a go and see how we do. I’m trusting that my body and baby girl will know what to do and it will come very naturally. But in the event that it doesn’t, we’re not gonna sweat it. See…mellow. Not a hippie mama here. 🙂

The next part…diapering that cute little butt my princess monkey is bound to have haha! Well, we did A TON of research on this little topic and did you know that cloth diapering isn’t what it used to be?? Gone are the days of pieces of cloth that you fold into a diaper shape, wrap baby up and safety pin (this isn’t 1950 folks!). Today there are SO many cloth diaper options! And it’s so much easier than you think (so I’ve been told/so I’ve read) To name a few options: prefolds, fitteds, all-in-twos, pockets, all-in-ones…and the list can really go on and on. Click here to learn about their differences! Click here to learn which option(s) might be right for you.

After spending weeks doing internet research, talking with real life friends who cloth diaper their little ones and again…you guessed it…crunching numbers, we decided that we’re going to give cloth diapering a go! We are so super excited…not only will we be reducing the landfill of stinky diapers but we are also going to be saving a TON of money not having to buy disposables (oh and we have a super high efficiency front load washer and dryer so we won’t be using tons of energy when we inevitably do more laundry). We chose to go with the BumGenius Elemental All-In-One cloth one size diaper. For us, the ease of use really sold us. It’s all one garment…nothing to stuff or assemble. For us, that’s a must. Cotton babies sells these diapers and we ordered 14 of them which just came in! And can I tell you that they are the cutest most adorable things I’ve ever seen?! I’m so excited to diaper the little princess monkey in these bad boys! Who knew I could get this excited over diapers haha.

You can find out more about the EXACT cloth diapering system we’re going to be trying out HERE (we follow this blog and were super impressed with their success. I’m pretty sure they are one of the main reasons we decided to try it out) and then their follow-up post and how it’s been working out for them HERE.

Again, this is one of those things we’re going to try out. It seems worth it to us, but if it doesn’t end up being as easy as we hope…yeah you guessed it…no biggie! Look at us already being flexible parents haha. The opportunity to be environmentally responsible AND save money is a big sell, so let’s see what happens! We’re not entirely sure if we’re going to use disposable diapers right away when baby monkey is born and then when she reaches 10lbs (the magic weight in the cloth diapering “one-size-diaper” world) start using our cloths OR if we’re going to cloth diaper from the beginning and start her out in these:

These are lil’ joeys by Rumparooz made especially for newborns. OMG I die at how cute and teeny they are!

Oh decisions, decisions! In any event…just a little peek into what we have planned for the princess monkey.

Oh, and I am not a hippie mama!! There, I just had to get it in one more time! 😀

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Pregnancy, Pregnancy products. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cloth Diapering and no I’m not a hippie mama

  1. Tia B says:

    I know nothing about these cloth diapers of which you speak. But I find it *so* cute and funny that they come in colors like “Root Beer” and “Amethyst”. how cute is that?? There’s your lead selling point!

  2. annika says:

    Good luck! The cuteness makes it totally worth the potential hassle. What? Cute is way more important than environmentally friendly, no?

Leave a Reply

