Oh hello Braxton Hicks! Nice to meet you.

I’m so silly baby girl. I believe myself to be one of the most “in-tune with my body” type of women. I know when things are off, and I always know the goings on of my internal system. I can feel it. I have always been able to feel things. In fact, I predicted my own first cycle when I was 11 years old. Granted I swore up and down to my mother that it was appendicitis haha, but nonetheless I felt the inside stirrings even at that young age.

What I am not, however, is deductive haha! Many times I will feel things and chalk them up to something else and attribute it to the wrong thing. I am a super star at this. In fact, detailing all my pregnancy symptoms for this blog has really been challenging. I love to attribute prego symptoms to working out too hard or being too tired because I’ve been too active blah blah blah. Remember the whole sciatica ordeal? I thought for the longest time that I had pulled something during a workout haha.

Well, here we are again. Apparently I’ve been having braxton hicks contractions for a few weeks now and I’ve definitely noticed them but of course did not make the prego connection. Why is it so hard for me?! Haha, I mean I’m obviously pregnant! You would think that anything out of the ordinary would lead me to deduce…oh a new prego symptoms! Pffft. Guess not. 🙂

I’ve been feeling this tightness in my tummy on and off every day for a few weeks and every time it happens I chalk it up to eating too much and being overly full. Silly mommy. I guess when all the prego resources said that the contractions truly are painless they weren’t kidding! At the most they are uncomfortable only because you feel really full and tight, but honestly no pain whatsoever! It wasn’t until this weekend that mommy’s dear friend (she’ll be more like a second mommy to you!) asked if I had been feeling the contractions yet. I blew it off and said not yet (thinking surely I would have made the connection) and it wasn’t until a few hours later that I had another BH contraction that it clicked. Oh my. Silly, silly mommy! But it’s great to know that my uterus has been practicing all this time for your eventual arrival!! That is such a crazy notion. It’s amazing to me that my body knows exactly what to do, when to do it, how to do it and it takes no effort on my part. Human.Bodies.Are.Cool. This is why I love science and human biology, in particular. I can’t wait to share that passion with you!

Anyway, just wanted to share, that as “in-tune” as your mommy thinks she is…she’s still got a bit of work to do on the deductive reasoning haha!

I love you princess monkey!

Photo Credit: Zazzle.com
About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Pregnancy, Pregnancy symptoms. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh hello Braxton Hicks! Nice to meet you.

  1. KC says:

    Yay for a strong uterus! Prepping for the big day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

