24 Weeks!

Today is a HUGE day baby monkey!!! So many things to celebrate!!! Ready?…

1. We are 24 weeks along today, woohoo!!

2. You are now considered a viable fetus!! If you were born today, modern science and medicine could help keep you alive!! This takes a weight off my chest like no other, my princess!! ūüėÄ

3. It’s mommy’s 29th birthday today!!! And I couldn’t think of a better birthday present than knowing you are a viable monkey today! LOVE LOVE LOVE!

Oh baby girl such a happy happy¬†day haha. Daddy has been asking me for weeks what I wanted for my birthday, but what gift could possibly compare to the gift of you? Everything seems so frivolous this year. Having you growing and dancing inside me is the best gift I could ever ask for. Honestly and truly! Normally I would want a big extravagant¬†vacation or a nice piece of jewelry and really want Daddy to go above and beyond to make me feel special. But Daddy already gave me the best gift he possibly could have…and that is YOU! So today while I celebrate another year of my life…I celebrate the life¬†Daddy and I created together and anticipate you and revel in the fact that you and I are one and sharing this very special day/milestone together. Super cheesy, right? I don’t care. I love you and that’s how I feel!

Here’s what you look like from the outside this week!

Symptoms: Fetal movement (like a lot a lot a lot!), furry tummy, hormonal, hungry, sciatica, itchy skin around my tummy, tired (growth spurt?), some round ligament pain, insomnia, baby bladder trampoline!

Weight gain: 9.5lbs (Almost to the 10lb mark my love!)

Here’s what babycenter.com has to say about your development this week:

Your baby’s growing steadily, having gained about 4 ounces since last week. That puts him at just over a pound. Since he’s almost a foot long (picture an ear of corn), he cuts a pretty lean figure at this point, but his body is filling out proportionally and he’ll soon start to plump up. His brain is also growing quickly now, and his taste buds are continuing to develop. His lungs are developing “branches” of the respiratory “tree” as well as cells that produce surfactant, a substance that will help his air sacs inflate once he hits the outside world. His skin is still thin and translucent, but that will start to change soon.

We made it love!!! 24 fabulous weeks!! Please keep baking for a while, but thank you for putting mommy’s heart at ease by making it this far. I LOVE YOU SO MUCH!!!

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Belly pics, Pregnancy, Pregnancy symptoms, Week by week. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 24 Weeks!

  1. Tia B says:

    Preciosa, your Mommy is OLD! But we are all soooo happy for the old lady…… today, and these past 24 weeks ‚̧

  2. Grandma Em says:

    Congratulations Baby Em on the milestone. And a very happy happy birthday to my own Baby. So happy to see you are growing and developing. It shows Mommy has been taking care of you. I only have one little comment: Em, it looks like you need another Prego top for my granddaughter’s source of milk. My gosh Baby, they are huge! The good thing is that it looks like you are not going to go hungry for as long as you are on the milk diet only. LOL.
    I love you both to pieces.

    Grandma Em

  3. annika says:

    Congratulations girls!

  4. Pingback: 24 Weeks | A Sweet Souvenir

Leave a Reply

