20 Weeks! Half way there!!

Baby girl!!!! Today is an amazing milestone! In all honesty, I NEVER thought we’d make it this far. I’ve been plagued by insecurity from day 1, but baby…HAPPY 20 WEEKS!!!!

Ahhhh, I cannot believe we are half way to your birth! I cannot wait to meet you and it’s all going SO fast! This pregnancy is half over, can you believe it?! The other amazing thing is that you are only 4 weeks from viability and oh goodness will I sigh in relief when you make it to 24 weeks, because if you are born then, modern science can keep you alive. I just want more than anything for you to be safe, happy and healthy.

This is what you look like from the outside this week, at your halfway done baking point!

 

 

 

Symptoms: Round ligament pain, sciatica, frequent urination, diziness/clumbsiness, fetal movement (wowza!), vivid dreams, hormonal/sensitive, hungry!

Weight gain: 4.5lbs (We were suppose to have gained 10lbs by now, but I’m really not worried about it…you’re measuring right on target and we’ll make up for it later, I’m sure!)

Here’s what babycenter.com says about your development this week:

Your baby weighs about 10 1/2 ounces now. He’s also around 6 1/2 inches long from head to bottom and about 10 inches from head to heel — the length of a banana. (For the first 20 weeks, when a baby’s legs are curled up against his torso and hard to measure, measurements are taken from the top of his head to his bottom — the “crown to rump” measurement. After 20 weeks, he’s measured from head to toe.)
He’s swallowing more these days, which is good practice for his digestive system. He’s also producing meconium, a black, sticky by-product of digestion. This gooey substance will accumulate in his bowels, and you’ll see it in his first soiled diaper (some babies pass meconium in the womb or during delivery).

It’s becoming so so so so so real, my monkey. It hits me every so often that in a few short months I am going to be a mother…to YOU. What?! Yes, you. This perfect human being that was made from the most love in the world. The best of me and the best of your daddy…YOU. I get these glimpses of kissing your face and your toes, and taking in your smell and looking at you deep in your eyes and knowing that your daddy and I made you and you grew inside me. It’s just all so surreal and exciting. Who will you be? What will you look like? What will you love? I am so eager to find all of this out…

CONGRATULATIONS to us on reaching 20 weeks!!! I am so excited to meet you on the outside. Keep up the good growing work and daddy and I will be busy on our side getting ready for your arrival. I love you baby girl!

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Belly pics, Pregnancy, Pregnancy symptoms. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 20 Weeks! Half way there!!

  1. Pingback: 20 Weeks | A Sweet Souvenir

Leave a Reply

