Let’s get our read on!

Baby girl, you have ears that function these days! How cool is that?! You can hear me and my heartbeat. I love that because as you know, I peek in on your heartbeat at least two times a day haha.

This past weekend your older sisters (doggies) were wrestling around in their beds and giving mommy all the signs they were ready to wake up. Well, I was still sleepy and wanted to get a little more rest. So, out of the dead quiet I yelled “Bed time! Go back to bed!” which they understand and promptly knew I meant business. But the funny thing is, I think I startled you! You were fast asleep when I blurted out at 6am for the doggies to lay still and you jumped in my belly haha! It was SO cute, but I did feel really badly for waking you up! But it was amazing to know that you heard me…hi baby monkey!! 🙂

Well, since then, daddy and I have been talking about your precious little ears and how important it is to us that you also recognize his voice and that it is a source of comfort to you when you’re born. After all, there will be plenty of nights that daddy will be the one rocking you to sleep or trying to get you to calm down when you’re fussy. So, we decided he would talk to you at night…through my belly. I have to be honest with you…it’s the silliest thing in the world. What will he say to you? I mean, I don’t even know what to say to you when I’m talking directly to you. Just yesterday I was chanting “hellooooooo baby! Princess! Hellooooooo” and that’s all I could come up with. Not very creative, I know. It’s doubly hard for daddy so we came up with a nice little solution…I think:

We’re going to read to you!! I read a scientific study not too long ago that showed children who were read a story or nursery rhyme while in utero, had a preference for that story after birth and it served as a “soothing” mechanism (as evidenced by heart rate and sucking frequencies). In addition, it will help you to get familiar with daddy’s voice so you’ll know him when you see him! 😉

I just purchased the two books above from amazon.com (they both had excellent reviews) and they should arrive in two weeks. I’m so excited to get started and have some wonderful mommy, daddy, and princess quality time with you! Plus, let’s face it…it will help make the whole talking-to-mommy’s-belly thing so much easier when we don’t have to come up with the words ourselves haha. Hope you like the stories we chose!

I love you!!

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Pregnancy, Pregnancy products. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s get our read on!

  1. Melissa says:

    Aww so sweet. I do agree that it’s funny when they talk to our bellies. LOL. But how else will our princesses know their voices?

  2. annika says:

    My sister had a soundtrack, the last trimester, with favorite songs, and she would play it a LOT, and she swears those songs calmed her little one even after she was out of the belly. Maybe they mostly calmed mommy, but whatever works, right? If your baby is screaming, and then she’s not, why ask questions?

Leave a Reply

