Owie!

It turns out that a “little” symptom I had been having for the past ohhh, I don’t know….6-8 weeks? Turned out to be a pregnancy symptom. I had no idea…until this weekend. For about 2 months now, I’ve been having a sharp pain run down my extreme lower back and butt (sounds silly, but it’s true). It comes out of nowhere and occasionally send me to my knees! I thought I must have pulled something walking with Kuma or working out, but this past weekend I was rendered useless and relegated to the couch because the sharp pain showed up with a vengeance! It really has no rhyme or reason it just pops up whenever and on Saturday I could barely walk or even lay down. Now what am I suppose to do if I can’t even lay down? It was beyond uncomfortable (understatement of the year). So I did what I do best…I researched it. 🙂

Turns out, this annoying “little” pain in my butt (literally) is a pregnancy symptom/side effect of a growing uterus and baby pressing on my sciatic nerve. Sound painful? Yeah, it is.

According to this website: During pregnancy, the sciatic nerve is situated beneath the uterus and as the fetus starts to develop, the uterus puts pressure on this longest nerve.  When this happens, a sharp pain is felt starting from the buttocks or lower back extending to the heel, giving a sudden agony.  Some experience pain of sciatic nerve pregnancy earlier but some during the latter stage.  This pain can last for weeks or months.  The common symptoms involve numbness on the affected area like the leg or the feet, lower back pain, and burning or shooting sensation.

What’s curious to me is that this pain started so early when I think back on when I first started feeling it. You must not have been more than an ounce in weight and my uterus was just starting to grow. But apparently that did the trick and you and that perfect little home I’m making for you monkey, is pressing on my nerve! Crazy. I emailed the doctor and she suggested to ice it, but there really isn’t a lot that can be done…and I should expect it to get a lot worse as you get bigger. Yikes!

My best bet (and my current plan) is to keep exercising in hopes that I can build up the muscles around the nerve to help take some of the pressure off…hope it works or we’re in for a sharp and painful ride!

In other owie news…you went to your first concert last night, monkey!! Your newly formed ear bones were in for a treat and we went with Auntie Dani to see Glee! (This is a really popular musical show on TV right now — I’m sure when you’re older it will seem like a dorky show to you, but it’s very popular with the kids these days!). We sat with a group of teens and pre-teens who were screaming their lungs out…my ears are still tingling from all the noise haha, but it made me so excited to be able to do stuff like that with you! Go to a concert and just lose control and be free and have fun together…I can’t wait! 🙂

Lastly, we have a doctor’s appointment tomorrow with the nurse midwife to check in and make sure everything is going as it should. No ultrasound, unfortunately, but we’ll check in on your heart rate and check my weight! I think I’ll also mention the sciatica to her and see what she has to say.

Love you baby!

Pssst, who are you?!?! A boy or a girl?? 😀

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Pregnancy, Pregnancy symptoms. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

