13 weeks development

Your first week in the second trimester sure is a busy one, monkey. I’ve read that you are starting to show your own unique personality! From this point on, different fetuses show different facial expressions. Some research even indicates that certain fetuses may start to smile at 13 weeks. I bet you’re a smiley baby. 🙂

The biggest news this week (to me anyway) — your brain has fully developed structurally! From this point on its mass will increase greatly. <–But I hope not too much…your daddy has a huge head, let’s keep it under control until you’re on the outside of my body, deal?? The connections between your  brain, muscles and nerves have all formed by now. You are able to move freely and use your muscles to push and pull yourself into various positions! I know because I’ve been feeling you at night! Last night your daddy was pressing on my tummy and that got you to wake up and party for a little bit. So fun!! 😀

You can now suck, swallow, and make irregular breathing sounds. According to the New England Journal of Medicine you can even feel pain. Pain is an essential sense that we’re born with to help keep us safe and away from dangerous things like fire or sharp objects.

Your precious fetal skin is almost transparent; your muscle tissue is lengthening and bones are becoming harder (calcium intake! ahh!); your liver and organs produce their appropriate fluids.

Here’s a neat one…eyebrows and eyelashes start to appear on your face and you are now developing the super fine, soft baby hairs, called lanugo, all over your body. The fine hair which covers the surface of your body at 13 weeks serves to protect your skin while you are floating around in all that water.

I read this on one of the pregnancy sites I follow: Start carrying around some tissues and make sure you’ve got plenty on hand. Nasal congestion can start from week 13 which is not because of a cold. Nose bleeds and blocked ears can also be a common symptom. These are all due to the increased blood supply to your mucous membranes. Oh!!! So that’s why I’ve been SO congested morning, noon and night and have had 3 bloody noses this week! Yep, three. I love when there is an explanation for symptoms that I didn’t even realize were pregnancy related haha.

Here are a few photos of what you look like this week!

I also read that at this stage in the game, your external genitalia has now formed (even though your sex was already determined at conception) and it’s now possible to tell, via ultrasound, if you are a bambino or bambina! I love to hear what people are guessing and why, but I’ll keep my guess to myself (well only your daddy knows what I think you really are heehee) and I think I’ll take a formal vote here in a couple of weeks to see what everyone else thinks. It will be fun!

It’s crazy how much I think about you, monkey, and how much I love you! Happy sleeping, growing and partying!

Love,

Mommy Em

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Neural development, Pregnancy, Pregnancy symptoms. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 13 weeks development

  1. Sonam says:

    Hi Em!
    I have been following your blogs for quite sometime now. I came across your blogs on google and started reading them. I was in my 8th week then.
    Your blogs are informative and fun, and that’s what I love about them. I read them as I am progressing with my pregnancy. Though there is a strong urge to read all the blogs at one go because they sre so much fun, but I try to control myself. Hehehe.
    Its nice to know how you felt and what you went through in your pregnancy per week. It somehow calms me down., making me feel like I am not the only one whose going crazy at times. Hehehehe. (No offence)
    I am in my 13th week now and yet to do my NT Scan! I am extremely nervous about it. I hope things go well. 🙂
    I also want to thank you for your efforts towards these blogs.

    Sending lots of Love and Best wishes to you and your family
    All the way from India! 🙂
    Sonam Vaghani.

    • Em says:

      Sonam! I cannot tell you how happy your comment made me. 🙂 Congratulations on your pregnancy and I hope you thoroughly enjoy each moment of it. It’s truly a biological wonder! I’m so glad that you’re enjoying each blog entry as you progress and hopefully find some comfort in what I experienced. Often times I did feel crazy or alone in my feelings so I hope you find some comfort knowing what I went through. I’m so excited for you and your NT scan! Any time I got to see baby Em through ultrasound amazed me and reassured me that yes, there was a beautiful tiny human growing inside me! So incredible!!
      Have fun and I’m wishing you the healthiest and happiest and easiest pregnancy!! Congrats again mama!

      Love and well wishes,
      Mama Em

      • Sonam says:

        I know its kind of stupid of me to reply after months, but better late than never. Thank you so much for all the support extended through these blogs and the prompt replies from your end. 🙂

  2. Pingback: 13 Weeks | A Sweet Souvenir

Leave a Reply

