Bubbles…little bubbles!

Light bulb moment!! Ding ding ding!! WINNER!

Baby, I realized that I’m pretty sure I felt you move last night!! What?! Yep, at 13 weeks and 2 days it finally clicked that those bubbles…the sensations I had been writing off as gas for the past few days were actually you partying up a storm!! I just about freaked out! I felt you monkey!!

I was laying on the couch watching a movie with your daddy last night, when I felt the “bubbles” and was just about to dismiss them when a conversation I had had with your Auntie Melissa (future mommy of your BFF and almost twin) came to mind. She had mentioned last week that she was waiting to feel her little baby move inside her. She is 4 weeks ahead of us, monkey, and asked if I had been able to feel you yet. I thought, surely it’s too early for me to feel the baby, but the truth is, many women (especially those who have been pregnant before) have reportedly felt their babies as early as 11 weeks!

I was just about to dismiss the bubbles, when it dawned on me…OMG that’s not gas…that’s the baby!! And then, it happened again! There you were, AGAIN! I really wish Daddy could have felt you too. It was so magical. You were definitely awake and having a little party in there my love. I called your grandma and she was so excited too! I guess so were you, because you moved again while I was on the phone with her. Ahhh so magical!

Here’s what the American Pregnancy Association has to say about it:

 Some moms can feel their babies move as early as 13-16 weeks from the start of their last period. These first fetal movements are called quickening and are often described as flutters. It may be difficult to determine whether this feeling is gas or your baby’s movements, but soon you will begin to notice a pattern. First-time moms may not feel these movements as early as second-time moms. Some moms, especially those in their first pregnancy, may not feel movement until 18-20 weeks. Remember that each woman and each pregnancy is different, so you may not feel movement as early as another woman. There is a broad range of when the first detection of movement can be felt, ranging from 13-25 weeks.

I’m so excited that I put it all together last night and now I’m on high alert to be paying attention for your movements!

Have fun in there little one! Smooch! 😀

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Pregnancy, Pregnancy symptoms. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bubbles…little bubbles!

  1. Melissa says:

    Officially saying it – your baby is an over-achiever just like it’s mama. LOL. Mine’s still apparently wanting to hide the feeling. I did try laying there last night like you said but I swear I just felt my hear pulsing. LOL

  2. Grandma Em says:

    I wonder if your parents will let you swim when you come visit. Babies make the greatest swimmers…. (Ask your Mother and your Auntie Ivsar). Practice your “quickening” and your “floating” in there and I’ll take care of them 🙂

    So, I’m starting to think in the future now… It feels very real now that I know that you are already “quickening” and showing Mommy that you are in there…. Keep up the good work Baby Em!! We love you.

Leave a Reply

