The pregnancy diet…strikes again!

I cannot tell you how strange it is to not want any food or to eat, period. It’s human nature, a survival instinct, to want to eat. In fact, our bodies reward us with the release of serotonin and dopamine (feel good neurotransmitters) every time we do eat. So why, oh why when I’m doing the most important thing I’ll ever do in life (create a new person) does my body reject food?! This is the time I would think I would need good, healthy, nutrition the most. These first few months of my little monkey’s life are so critical and so many things could go wrong! This seems so counter-intuitive for my body to feel so averse to all food. Silly body. I guess it’s a good thing we’ve evolved larger cortices and a frontal lobe, because even though my body says one thing, my brain says another. So, off I go to shove an orange or something down my throat. Sigh. And thank goodness for vitamins and supplements. I will be trying a protein supplement drink (Ensure) this week to see if I can get more nutrients in haha.

The wonders of pregnancy!!

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Pregnancy, Pregnancy symptoms. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The pregnancy diet…strikes again!

  1. annika says:

    Yeah, good thing you’re a responsible, unselfish mommy who WILL eat whether you want to or not! Feed that prune! (Although the prune will feed itself, whether you eat or not – but then you’ll be a tired, pale mommy with no energy, and what’s the fun of that?). Hugs!
    A

  2. Katharine Watters says:

    Soft pretzels with cream cheese? That was all I could manage (and boy did I eat my fair share!!)

Leave a Reply

