The pregnancy diet?

So one thing you should know about your mommy, my little monkey, is that she can hold her own when it comes to food haha! I always have been able to pack a lot into my belly…ever since I was a tiny one.  In fact, your grandma was worried that I ate entirely too much for my size when I was growing up. What can I say, I’m just a healthy eater and really love good food.  Most days I can pretty much keep up with your Daddy too! Impressive, I know. 🙂

The doctor has instructed me to gain between 25 and 35 pounds for this pregnancy which, to be honest, I’m a little excited to do! I’ve never been one to be able to gain a ton of weight. Sure, I fluctuate 5 or so pounds every once in a while, but for the most part, I’ve been the same weight since high school. So, this is going to be an exciting adventure for us!

At my last appointment I had already put on a pound and a half…cool! I figured,  we are on our way. But at this last appointment on Friday it showed that I had lost 4 pounds…what?? Oh yes, down four pounds from last time.  How is that possible?? Oh I know how… I call it the first trimester pregnancy diet haha.

It’s kind of strange. The overall ickiness I feel has made me pretty averse to all foods. I just don’t ever really WANT to eat anymore. I force myself to eat at least 3 meals during the day…but it’s definitely kind of an arduous task everyday. Even more, I definitely cannot eat the quantity I’m so used to being able to pack in. I eat like 5 bites of my lunch or dinner and I’m stuffed. Really, fully, stuffed. It’s insane. I’ve learned not to push the full feeling, because that’s when the vomit comes haha. Sorry, but it’s true.

So, the doctor has instructed me to start eating lots and lots of small meals throughout the entire day…basically just keep eating and lots of protein (<– that’s a hard one because I’m not a huge fan of meat right now…). I need to have gained 10 pounds by the 20 week mark.  I have 11 weeks to put on some weight…it’s on baby, it’s on!

Love you!

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Pregnancy symptoms. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The pregnancy diet?

  1. Katharine Watters says:

    I always kept myself just a little hungry or I would be queasy in the first trimester. After that, I had no problem putting on the weight..

  2. Dani says:

    I was slow to gain in the 1st tri because of the aversions to everything but fruit. A lot of my gain was in the last tri, but I still managed to hit about 35lbs overall. You’ll get there! I wouldn’t stress during the 1st tri!

  3. Grandma Em says:

    Hello mylittle bundle of joy. I forgot to congtatulate you on your promotion at 9 weeks. Well, here it it: We are all so proud of you. Nine weeks old in your development. I can’t wait until we know more about you. Em is taking good care of you, so all you have to do is continue with your progress and develop and grow…. Love you Baby Em!

Leave a Reply

