8 weeks! …Surprise!

Oh my precious little monkey I have no idea how to start this post. I’m just happy. Very, very happy. 🙂

So, because of your little angel sibling that came before you, mommy is very conscientious of this pregnancy and every little thing freaks me out. I admit it. I worry all the time.  If I get a break from the nausea I worry. If I have a sudden sharp pain in my lower belly, I worry. If I’m awake, I worry. Sorry, it’s just my truth right now.  This morning I thought I saw a little bit of pink discharge. My heart raced.  This is how it started last time. I tried to ignore it and remember that I only had 8 more days until I could see you.  That really didn’t work. I called the doctor immediately and asked if they would see me today. I think they really hate patients like me. Oh well.

At 11 this morning they did an ultrasound to see what we could see:

Hi baby!!! You’re doing super fabulous in my belly and that makes me want to sing and cry and cry and sing! Although I look hideous when I cry and no one wants to hear my singing voice. Regardless, I am SO happy! Your heart rate looks completely normal (though this substitute doctor didn’t check the actual number) and you are now measuring 8 weeks! What?! So, I did conceive when I thought I did and you are right on track to what I initially thought.  I’m going to need to update your development and do more belly pics in a separate post…yay!

And as for you being so clingy… well that is still unknown.  The picture above is awesome. She was able to scootch around up there and get this really nice pic, but your gestational sac is not perfectly round.  It looks kind of like a banana.  Something is pressing into it…maybe a fibroid or it may just be due to some little glitch in the position/shape of my uterus. It’s hard to know for sure at this point. The doctor said it isn’t something to be concerned about right now.  We’ll just keep our eye on it.  Hopefully you just push back on that little thing and win. 🙂

In the meantime, I am reveling in the fact that I got to see you again today and I got to see your heart pumping. Wow, it’s so indescribable…the feelings that come over me when I see you bring tears to my eyes.

Hang tight please! And I’ll work on updating your development very soon!

Love you monkey!

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Ultrasound pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 8 weeks! …Surprise!

  1. annika says:

    The endless rollercoaster-ride… Exhausting and exhilarating – mommyhood is intense!
    Thanks for the update. ❤

Leave a Reply

