Schleepy…

They call it first trimester exhaustion. It’s my new way of life lately. I cannot get enough sleep. Literally. I fall asleep on the couch by 8pm and your daddy has to wake me to move me to our bed. And when that alarm clock goes off at 5am…well, it hurts! 🙂

Sitting at work is equally painful. My eyes suddenly begin to close for no apparent reason. Next thing I know, I’ve flinched and thrown my computer mouse on the floor! Oopsies. Don’t tell mommy’s boss okay?

This is what Baby Center has to say about it: It’s particularly common during the first trimester. What most women remember about this stage is a constant feeling of fatigue. Being pregnant puts a strain on your entire body, which can make you awfully tired. Even night owls may find themselves struggling to stay awake long enough to watch their favorite eight o’clock show.
It’s possible that hormonal changes — in particular, a dramatic rise in progesterone — are contributing to your sluggishness. And you may be having trouble getting a good night’s sleep, especially if you’re uncomfortable or getting up to use the bathroom frequently.
Nausea and vomiting can certainly cost you energy. You may also be feeling anxious about your pregnancy, which can be draining. Add it all up and it’s no wonder you feel as though you’ve run a marathon by the end of the day.

So, it seems that this is a normal symptom of pregnancy and yet another that I’m thankful for, monkey. Only 9 more days until I get to see you again! Until then, here’s a little sneak peek of what you may look like in my belly at 7 weeks:

Awesome, right? I love you!

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Pregnancy symptoms. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

