There go my cookies…and my dignity!

Oh baby, what a weekend we had! Well, it finally happened…

Yes, you finally made your presence known. I guess you don’t want me to keep your little existence a secret any longer. Or maybe it was when I told you to do whatever you needed to do to stay strong, healthy and happy and you took me up on it. 🙂

Let’s start from the beginning, shall we? Mommy had a pretty important work meeting in San Francisco on Saturday so I drove out Friday night and woke up bright and early Saturday morning and met my boss and the rest of the attendees down in the conference room of the fancy hotel where we were staying.  I was actually feeling pretty good…not really nauseas at all. Thank you for that. We sat through the morning session without incident and broke for lunch at noon.  Mommy’s boss introduced to her to some very important people at lunch and we networked and made connections that hour.  Just before the afternoon session was to start, I decided to take a little restroom break so I wouldn’t have to go later.  I left my purse and belongings (but grabbed my phone thank goodness) and walked out to find the ladies room. As I made my way across the lobby and up the stairs I got so incredibly light-headed and dizzy so I stopped and leaned up against a wall. At that moment, I got very scared. I knew I needed to make it to the ladies room or I was going to pass out right there in front of lots of really important people! I mustered all my strength and headed down the hallway with the ladies room door in sight. I don’t know how I made it, I broke out into a sweat and the floor was spinning underneath me. I opened the door and found a chair to sit in. I put my head down and closed my eyes. I kept thinking of you little monkey. I could hear the ladies around me finally leave and was so thankful to be alone. I sat there for a couple of minutes just hoping I wouldn’t pass out and hit my head. And then it hit me. Oh yes. I was going to toss my cookies…well technically my lunch. Oh god. I ran to the nearest stall and didn’t even have the chance to close the door behind me before I literally projectile vomited all over the place.  Oh man it was so violent!! Sorry, TMI. I was literally drip sweating and hovering my face over the toilet. It was not pretty. But, at least I felt a little better. Okay, now what? I decided I should try to tell my boss what was going on. Thank goodness I brought my phone! I walked out and down the hallway and that feeling hit me again. Oh no!! Not again! This time I sat down and tried to gather myself. And as luck would have it, one of those very important people mommy’s boss had introduced her to at lunch walked by. Perfect.  Next thing I know mommy has four very important doctors (we’re talking heads of a very important company!) carrying her to a back room and asking me to lay down, putting my feet up and taking my blood pressure. Oh geez. Oh wait, there’s more! Here’s comes my boss! Five doctors and one sick pregnant lady on the floor of the Westin St. Francis in San Francisco hah! Finally after all the commotion it was just me and the boss. He sat and watched over me for about 2 hours while I lay there trying not to throw up.  After making some very awkward small talk, we decided that it would be best to try to get me home. Luckily for me the boss offered to drive me home in my car. Thank goodness because I know I wouldn’t have been able to do it on my own! Well, just as I rolled over to try to get up….oh you guessed it…..I grabbed the bowl near me and lost the rest of my lunch, right there, with the boss holding my hair! Oh yeah. I’m pretty sure I can never look at him in the face again.  When I was done I plopped down on the floor again and tears were streaming down my face.  I can’t help it! I cry when I throw up. 😦  Mr. Boss man took my “lunch” bowl and rinsed it out and asked if I would be able to make it down to the car. I don’t know how I did, but 10 minutes later we were in the car and on our way back to Sacramento. I only had to have him pull over once so I could throw up again haha! Oh boy, work is going to be fun on Monday. 

This is a weekend I will never forget, but I think it’s a good sign that you’re doing well in there little monkey, right? I hope so! I’m hoping that was a one time event, but I did promise to take care of you and give you whatever you needed…I’m just hoping you don’t need me to throw up again! 😉

Love you!

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Pregnancy symptoms. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There go my cookies…and my dignity!

  1. annika says:

    fun times… but hey, if you are going to be throwing up with your boss holding your hair, I can’t think of a better choice of boss than Lorenzo 🙂

  2. Ruby says:

    Oh, wow, this is QUITE the story to tell the grandkids. My goodness, what a hoot!!!!!!! Is he still your boss? 😉

Leave a Reply

