HCG and neural development

First things first. A little HCG update. I had another draw on Thursday and was supposed to get my last draw today but we missed the lab hours today so I only have Thursday’s numbers to report:

Date DPO HCG
2/24/2011 13 99
2/27/2011 16 595
3/1/2011 18 2,398
3/4/2011 21 7,431
3/7/2011 24 20,901
3/10/2011 27 43,534

 

Doing well my baby! Now, since we missed today’s blood draw, do I just wait until our doctor’s appointment on Wednesday to see you or do I go tomorrow for the last draw? I’m not sure. But knowing me, I’ll get impatient and want to make sure our HCG is still on the rise before the appointment haha. I’ll keep you posted, of course.

Now, something you should know about your mommy is that she is obsessed with human brains.  It’s true. I even went to a few extra years of school so I could learn all about it. One of your honorary aunties suggested that I add a new section here and track your neural development.  Now why didn’t I think of that?! I’ve already missed a bunch of great stuff you’ve been doing in there so I’ll recap what’s already happened, yay!

Neural Development (weeks 1-6):  After fertilization, the zygote (you) has 46 chromosomes — 23 from me and 23 from your daddy. Your gender, eye color, hair color and some aspects of your personality have already been determined, woo! This mass of cells then descends from the fallopian tube into my uterus. Cells begin to divide rapidly and form the embryonic disc from which YOU will develop. 🙂 There is early organization into three layers of cells: (1) the ectoderm, from which all your sensory organs and nervous system will develop (2) the mesoderm, from which your circulatory, skeletal and muscular systems will develop (3) the endoderm, from which your digestive and some glandular systems will develop. (This whole process of organizing into 3 layers is a wonderfully complicated process induced by factors secreted by the middle layer [mesoderm] and a process known as inhibition. I’ll explain more when you’re older haha). Your precious nervous system begins to arise, first in the form of the neural groove. By the end of the sixth week, your growth is really rapid. The neural groove has now extended into a long tube.  The anterior part will develop into your precious brain!! At this time, your neural tube along your back is closing (yay!) and your heart is pumping blood. You are well on your way, love, and your incredible nervous system is quickly developing into an amazing piece of biological machinery.

Until next time, love you monkey!

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in HCG, Neural development. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HCG and neural development

  1. annika says:

    Thanks so much for the recap! Nerdy honorary auntie (yay – I’m an honorary auntie!) is grateful 🙂

Leave a Reply

