6 weeks!

Officially another week pregnant today! It still seems pretty surreal and even though I think about you a lot, my little monkey, sometimes I forget you’re in there doing some of the most important growth you’ll ever do. This is a very critical time for you and I am keeping every finger and toe crossed that all is well and developing according to plan. 🙂

This also begins the prego belly documentation, woohoo! Starting with this week I will be snapping pictures to capture my changing body and to see you grow. You’ll have to excuse today’s photos…it slipped my mind before I left for work so yes, these were done in my office…with my crappy cell phone camera! Haha. I promise to do better ones next week.

The bloat right now is unreal. It may not look like it, but mommy normally has a super flat tummy but with the changing hormones (namely the progesterone) mommy’s tummy is starting to balloon out even though you are only the size of a sweet pea! It’s making it pretty uncomfortable to button my pants so I’ve been rocking the long shirt over open and free as a bird pants haha.

Symptoms: Slight breast tenderness, frequent unrination, irritability, BLOAT and NAUSEA. Oh dear the ickiness. I still love it though. Love.love.love. I’ll take it all day, every day if it means you’re growing and healthy!

Your Growth:

This week’s major developments: The nose, mouth, and ears that you’ll spend so much time kissing in eight months are beginning to take shape. If you could see into your uterus, you’d find an oversize head and dark spots where your baby’s eyes and nostrils are starting to form. His emerging ears are marked by small depressions on the sides of the head, and his arms and legs by protruding buds. His heart is beating about 100 to 160 times a minute — almost twice as fast as yours — and blood is beginning to course through his body. His intestines are developing, and the bud of tissue that will give rise to his lungs has appeared. His pituitary gland is forming, as are the rest of his brain, muscles, and bones. Right now, your baby is a quarter of an inch long, about the size of a lentil. Courtesy of babycenter.com

Only 6 more days until I get to see you! I love you monkey.

About Em

After the loss of our first pregnancy, we took a much needed vacation to Costa Rica to enjoy each other and clear our minds. Well, as luck would have it, we brought home much more than great memories and great tans...our own little Costa Rican souvenir. Here is our journey!
This entry was posted in Belly pics, Pregnancy symptoms, Week by week. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 6 weeks!

  1. annika says:

    bloated? bloated?!! gah.

  2. Melissa says:

    I can’t wait for my olive to meet your sweetpea!

  3. Grandma Em says:

    Well, while mommy worries about your growth and continues her healthy journey, grandma Em is starting to think about your wardrobe. Yes, I already imagine you coming out of the hospital in your mommy’s arms with Daddy next to her and grandma besides. I figured you should wear something that displays your name: Baby Em. Today, I bought a crochet book for beginners. Yes, I will attempt to crochet for you, my precious Costa Rican grandbaby.
    I love you immensely, I know that your mommy is making everything to her power to make your stay in her belly as pleasant as possible so you can develop. I’m counting the days and the weeks until we can see your pictures for the first time.

    Love,
    Grandma Em

Leave a Reply

